Customer Reviews

Reviews provided by Bazaar Voice. Free Tax USA cannot guarantee they are accessible.

Tax Filing is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 281619.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_54249, tr_227370
  • loc_en_US, sid_FREETAXUSA_TAX_FILING, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_freetaxusa
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getAggregateRating, method:CLOUD, 304ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap, but not flexible; Support needs work If you are on a budget and your taxes are simple, Freetax is the place to go. However, keep in mind that it's tailored for individual tax returns, primarily W2 employees. If you own an LLC or corporation, forget it. There is no option there. As for the system, it's not very flexible. Finding your way around can be difficult, and you can't usually jump from one place to another without going through the whole interview again. Furthermore, you can't easily see the forms prior to finishing the interviews. The help system lacks details, and often just links you to IRS documents which are often lengthy, difficult to understand, and ambiguous. Support is usually responsive, but they don't keep late hours. Additionally, they aren't very knowledgeable about tax issues like many of their competitors are. Their support is geared more toward using the system. Overall, it's an average experience for my circumstances. If you are a W2 employee, on a budget, and you don't have a lot of write-offs or deductibles, then Freetax is the way to go. If, however, your taxes are more complicated, it may be wise to look elsewhere unless you have some knowledge of the tax code.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & Smooth This was my first time using FreeTaxUSA. I'd been using a more expensive competitor but not anymore! This was such an easy and clear interface it made the process very easy for me.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was fairly easy to use the system. It would have been easier if I knew wth I was doing.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Friendly reminders have been helpful.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional tax program I have been using freetax usa for 5 years now. I have not had any problems with the state or federal IRS agencies. Freetax usa has help stop me from paying more than 600.00 to pay h&r block or turbo tax. I will forever be with freetax usa
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Software Doing my tax return with FreeTaxUsa, it was a good experience. I think I got the biggest refund that I hadn't gotten with other tax preparation companies. The cost was exceptional!, it was much, much cheaper than any other company. I don't deny that sometimes the process was a little confusing, sometimes the program didn't save my information, also there were pages that the program led me to do, but I never found them again. Then I have to start the process again, that was a bit exasperating. I also think that is necessary to give us more understandable information on some topics instead of just sending us to read direct information from the IRS, which for laymen like in taxes is difficult to understand.
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service! The format and guide were easy to follow and I did not need any assistance.
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome accurancy Takes all anxiety away, affordable State tax; very precise user friendly experience. I no longer require the service of my tax accountant.
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good service Filing was quick and easy. Would recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Tax Easy and helpful. I was able to send my taxes in while doing everything at home.
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service Easy tax filing!! I liked the simplicity of the filing process..
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Filing Very easy to follow steps! Very good explained info icons!
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easiest tax filing I’ve done. It made connecting all of the different income streams, businesses, depreciation, and the related forms very straightforward.
Date published: 2020-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience...better than Turbo Tax Filing has never been easier...truly!! It was easy and fast
Date published: 2020-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY! This was the easiest filing I've done AND I saved $207 by not filing with Turbo Tax?
Date published: 2020-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use fast easy & helped me with every step. I was nervous but the step by step assistance was a great help.
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, simple interface As a CPA, when doing my own my taxes, I detest software that tries to turn the process into an interview and obscures the actual forms and calculations. Freetaxusa is a nice mix of easy to use, yet still providing transparency to the actual forms and calculation for review.
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy, Useful, and Inexpensive Service Used to use H&R Block, my friend showed me FreeTaxUSA a few years ago, now I do my taxes myself in the same amount of time it took to drive to H&R Block and meet with someone, and it costs $10 instead of $300
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbeatable Price, Product, & Customer Service The product is very easy to use. Tax code is confusing as such, but freetaxusa makes it a piece of cake for novices like myself. The price is unbeatable. They even publish a 10% discount on the already low price. Customer Service: This is the best part. Every agent on the chat is very very knowledgeable and patient. If they don't know the answer, they will go and find it for you. Exceptionally speaking, one of the agents stood by me and waited on my deadline day for tax filing. The agent stayed overtime after the customer service hours to make sure that I felt comfortable filing my return and helping me out along the way. It was exceptional and I am very much impressed!!! You guys are the best!!! Let me know if I can do anything in return ever.
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User friendly and thorough I enjoyed being coached through every aspect of my tax forms. The simplicity was awesome and helped me focus to stay on task throughout till completion.
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to fill up taxes very easy to do and fast to finish very helpful. I will recommended.
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy filing and great service I think that was the easiest time I have ever had filing my taxes, thank you!
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great APP
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service As a mother of 3 this made it so easy to do my taxes myself without any hassle.
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service, fast and easy Great and easy to maneuver. There are help tags if you get stuck or just have a question. You probably wont get stuck though. Its simple. It wont let you a noticeable error either. It will turn red and ask you if you need to go back
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Service Easy to use, filing my taxes was a great experience
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful way to do your taxes Never easier! Extremely thorough prompts, covering many situations. Cannot say enough good things.
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service It is the best online service and I've used them all period your priced right it's easy to use and filing was quick. I'll never use another service except yours.
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and very complete FreeTaxUSA made it very easy for us to complete our current year's taxes along with resubmitting last year's due to errors. This is excellent, online tax prep without all the bloated software being added to my hard drive. We will definitely use FreeTaxUSA in the future.
Date published: 2020-10-21
  • y_2021, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_54249, tr_227370
  • loc_en_US, sid_FREETAXUSA_TAX_FILING, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_freetaxusa
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.2.0.4
  • getReviews, method:CLOUD, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Let's Get Started